The Dead House — Book Review

The Dead House by Dawn Kurtagichdeadhouse

Rating: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

Favorite Quote:

“His mouth on mine, the texture of his tongue, the taste of him, his warmth in a world of such coldness-all of it felt like divinity. I wasn’t a ghost in that moment. I wasn’t nothing.”

This book was so deliciously creepy. It is most definitely not my normal read. This book was gripping. I wanted to know. Had to know what was going to happen. Now I have a bit of a problem. I have this terrible reading habit. More often than not, I will get partway through a book and skip to the end to see if it’s going to make me hate myself for reading it. If I’m going to be aggravated by the end.  With this book I physically could not do this. Part of me wanted to. So badly. I was so curious! The other part of me that wanted to see the story unfold properly was stronger. Honestly though? That’s a rarity. That a book such has such solid hold on me that I don’t cave and read the ending.

This book pulled me along for such a wild ride. I read this at work and was frustrated each and every time I had to put it down because I didn’t want to. I had to know. I had so many questions! This book is so tricky. It pulls you in so many directions. Who to believe? Who is crazy? Is anyone crazy? Is this mental illness? Over-medication? Is this paranormal activity at work? Who killed who? I think the book itself says it best:

“In the end, we must decide for ourselves what we believe.”

Part of me struggles with this review because I’m so torn. So much is left hanging and it’s meant to be that way. This book haunts me. I want to know the truth and I never will because who is to say what what the truth is? Who is to say what is right or wrong. Is it wrong if they honestly believed it to be true? This book makes me think and not a lot of books do that for me. I loved it.

This book is told in a series of diary entries, interviews and a description of videos taken. I won’t lie, ever since seeing this in Illuminae I have fallen in love with this style of story-telling. I devour it. I find it so unique and it really helps dish in the creepy factor for this book. It forcibly leaves things out so you’re left wondering. It shows you the desperation of the situations. It gives multiple views on the same story. It gives you reason to believe any of the viewpoints could be true. Or they are all true. It’s however you take this story. I’m still reeling. What do I think? I don’t even know and I love it.

 The characters are stunning. They are all interesting and so different. Some more developed than others but I feel that was done on purpose. For that sense of mystery. Even through diary entries and videos, I still was so emotionally attached to this story. Naida. All my feels!

I’m trying so hard not to spoil this. I love that it’s a stand alone novel. I love the themes within this book. Carly with the day, Kaitlyn with the night, Mental disorders, witchcraft? Argh it was so interesting.

I feel like if I say more I’m just repeating myself. I think I’m just going to sit by myself and think for a while. This book really got my creative juices flowing and made me want to work on my own novels again.

 

 

This review can also be found on my Goodreads Profile: https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/13251868-heather

Leave a Reply

