Crooked Kingdom — Book Review

Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows #2)crooked_kingdom

Rating: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

Favorite Quote:

“I would come for you. And if I couldn’t walk, I’d crawl to you, and no matter how broken we were, we’d fight our way out together – knives drawn, pistols blazing. Because that’s what we do. We never stop fighting.”

This. Book. Honestly I’m not sure where to begin other than I FREAKING LOVED IT.  This had that perfect ending that I wanted from the Grisha Trilogy. I could probably babble about this forever.

The SHIPS. I ship the pairings SO HARD.  Kaz and Inej are so incredibly beautiful and Jesper and Wylan were so natural. I didn’t feel like the gay relationship between them was forced or awkward — just normal like any other relationship and that makes me so incredibly happy to see. It’s one, incredibly rare to see in YA and two it was just so well written and compelling. I think I ship them harder than Nina and Mattias and that’s saying something.  Nina. Mattias. Arggh. I have no words except while I love your writing so much Leigh Bardugo. I also quite hate you.

Kaz is probably my favorite character. His planning is just so immaculate. Plans upon plans, everything tying together. Everything done with a purpose. Brick by brick. ARGH. Bardugo’s writing is just so incredibly superb! She pulls you along, and I couldn’t see how it was going to work out and then everything fell together. The dropped hints of what’s coming but not quite enough for the full picture.  The foreshadowing. So perfect.

The characters are stunning, their interactions and friendships. When they get along, when they’re fighting, the tension, the romance. I felt the romance was so well done. Somewhat subtle and yet so heart warming and believable. It has so much to enjoy. Heart stopping action, plotting, a lot of wondering how things will work out, touches of comedy.  I mean who doesn’t love Jesper?

“Sorry I almost got you stabbed to death. Who wants waffles?”

Then there is Kaz. He even had his sliver of humor. He never seems to stop surprising me. Again and again. He probably has the best lines.

“I’ll keep that in mind. When they burn me on the Reaper’s Barge, I definitely want to be remembered as polite.”

I was HIGHLY satisfied. There is so much I feel like I could say but I feel like none of it would do this justice. This ending is everything I wanted (and a few things I didn’t I suppose if I’m being honest) and the ending was just so perfect I couldn’t imagine it any other way. It wrapped up so neatly and I was just…content when I finished it. So content. I found this duo to be much more compelling than the Grisha trilogy. While I felt the Grisha trilogy lost it’s luster after the first book, this series took off running and kept raising my expectations. I was not disappointed. I would read this duology over and over and over again.  Leigh you better not be done with the Grisha world because I will ALWAYS need more of it.

 

This review can also be found on my Goodreads Profile: https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/13251868-heather

Leave a Reply

